Coursework Admissions & Awards Committee

The Coursework Admissions and Awards Committee is a sub-committee of the University Education Committee.

Terms of Reference

  • Develop, monitor and review University policies, procedures and guidelines on load planning, applications, admissions and pathways for coursework students;
  • Monitor and review the University's entry standards, including those for English-language proficiency and pathways programs;
  • Determine equivalence of overseas qualifications and entry levels from offshore school programs;
  • Recommend to University Education Committee and Academic Board and the Vice-Chancellor on articulation or entry agreements signed between the University and other educational institutions;
  • Report and recommend on College determinations of credit for previous learning where this is assessed as equivalent to study at the University, including credit transfer and recognition of prior learning;
  • Oversee the ranking of applications for major scholarships schemes;
  • Rank and make recommendations on nominations for University Medals, major coursework prizes and external scholarships and fellowships
  • Consider and report on any matter referred to it by the University Education Committee or the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic).
  • Members
  • Meetings


Category Member Term expiry
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) and Chair Professor Marnie Hughes-Warrington
Pro Vice-Chancellor (University Experience) Professor Richard Baker
Other Professor Shirley Leitch
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Global Engagement)
Professor Paula Newitt
Dean of Students
One academic staff member and one alternate who may be either an academic or general staff member, with expertise in the area, from each ANU College nominated by the ANU College Dean/Director appointed by the Chair of UEC
Two members appointed by the Chair, UEC, for their expertise
Mr James Connolly
President, ANUSA (or nominee)
Ms Alyssa Shaw
President, PARSA (or nominee)
Ms Ariel Edge
Registrar, or nominee
Associate Directors International and Domestic, Admissions, or nominee
Ms Richelle Hilton
Director, Planning and Performance Measurement, or nominee
Ms Sarah Hawkins
Acting Director, Admissions, or nominee
Ms Tania Willis
Deputy Director Access Inclusion and Wellbeing
Attendance by Invitation Principal and General Manager, ANU College


Date & location Deadlines
Thursday 9 Mar, 12pm
Mills Room, Chancelry
CAAC 1 Agenda items due
16 Feb
Wednesday 10 May, 2pm
Mills Room, Chancelry
CAAC 2 Agenda items due
19 Apr
Monday 3 Jul, 3.30pm
Meeting room 3.18, Beryl Rawson Building
CAAC 3 Agenda items due
13 Jun
Thursday 20 Jul, 10am
Mills Room, Chancelry
Thursday 14 Sep, 9.30am
Mills Room, Chancelry
CAAC 4 Agenda items due
24 Aug
Thursday 19 Oct, 10am
Ross Hohnen, Chancelry
CAAC 5 Agenda items due
28 Sep